Yule be right, mate

It’s Christmas morning here in New Zealand. And as I sit here enjoying my morning coffee, having done a few chores and taken the dog for a walk .. I find myself pondering “Peace on earth” and all the other sayings trotted out at this time of year.

I think really, it isn’t peace on earth we should all strive for. It’s peace within. If we attain that – we’re winning.

A short time ago I was reading overnight texts, emails & facebook updates. Everyone is posting gorgeous pics of kids and trees and gifts and the like. I have no tree, no xmas decos, nothing to say it’s Xmas here in the way of decorations. There’s other history behind why Xmas is of little joy to me, not appropriate for this blog.

However, I have to admit for the first time in a few years: I feel at peace this Christmas.
And it’s nice.

Happy Christmas to you. Where-ever you are and however you celebrate this date: I hope it is safe, relaxing and enjoyable.

PS Why the title? A fave kiwi saying is “she’ll be right, mate” It seemed apt to Xmas-it-up a bit!

images

About lifeinthefarcelane

Giving life the shake down it so richly deserves.

Posted on December 25, 2012, in Happy-ness, Hope, Humour, Life, Love, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Merry Christmas to my favorite Kiwi. Miss you, but glad you’re feeling a sense of peace. :) *hugs and hot chocolate*

  2. Happy Christmas my friends! woo woo woo!

  3. Merry Christmas, Fred.

    I’m glad you found inner peace.

  4. Sounds like you got the best present there is, litfl – peace.
    I hope you enjoy through the new year and beyond.

    And of curse, that you have a blast doing it!

  5. I never realized until a few days ago that you’re from NZ! Can I visit?!

  6. Hugs and More Peace from Alabama.. (maybe harp music if you are into it)

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you ..

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 422 other followers

