Let the games begin

Well, I manned up this week and told the “ex” it’s all over .. Tis fair to say it was one of the hardest things I’ve done in a long while. The key problem is I don’t hate him.. I’m just not in love with him any more.

I’m aware of the pain this will be causing him but I’m also aware that it isn’t right to stay together simply to prevent him going thru’ any pain. Life’s too short for that sort of ‘generosity’ – and so for all that it seems harsh: this is all about ME and my life being what I want it to be <– there’s a theme on it’s own. What do I want my life to be? That’s something I’m pondering at the moment, so watch this space for more thoughts on that.

The first couple of days after I told him were a flurry of anguished emails as he came to terms with the bombshell I’d dropped on him. Day 3 the emails changed to being a bit more feisty and the last 2 days have been a cold silence, as he’s now busy drawing support from parents and friends.

Tis time for the ‘games’ to begin..

Why do I say that?

Well, you see, his parents are both barristers. Mm.. Should I just give him everything incl. the shirt on my back!? My lawyer says no.

And so we wait to see what their first move is. All a little surreal.. I am a bit of a control freak, so this sitting and waiting for their move is quite frustrating. But I’m doing as my lawyer says cos that’s his area of expertise not mine. I’d probably give too much in an attempt to just make this next painful phase end..

Life is for the living. Life is FOR living. Let’s hope this is resolved amicably and promptly. I’m keen to move on and am sure once he does, it’ll be better all round..

About lifeinthefarcelane

Giving life the shake down it so richly deserves.

Posted on July 2, 2011, in Change, Humour, Life, Stress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you ..

