Anything for a quiet life

Does that include not having one, I wonder?

Hands up if you think there should be a quiz we can get any prospective partners to take, which contains the necessary questions to help us decide if they’re going to turn out to be a complete schlep for all that they seem incredible on meeting #1

One of the questions I’d have on my quiz would be what they think of this statement:

“Peace at any cost”

It’s largely the same as the title of this blog but perhaps spells out a bit better how crummy a concept it is!

Don’t get me wrong – I loathe chaos and discontent. Peace is something I am very “at peace” with. However the rest of that statement is what freaks me out!

AT ANY COST.

In other words, I will not speak my mind. I will put up with shit.. I will tolerate all manner of things. Probably even going without lots of things. All for a quiet life..?

Not for me thank you!

If I believe in something I will stand up for it. If I dislike something, I will fight against it or try to change it. The whole concept of ‘peace at any price’ simply defeats me.

Do you suppose at some point people like this ‘go postal’ as years of pent up rage simmers up to a boil? I wouldn’t wanna be around when they blow ..

Why can’t we have a bit of balance?

I think it’s OK to give a damn about things.

To care deeply about something or someone. To know when to keep your mouth shut, and to know when to take a stand.
It doesn’t have to be all or nothing – does it?

About lifeinthefarcelane

Giving life the shake down it so richly deserves.

Posted on August 28, 2011, in Change, Grief, Happy-ness, Hope, Humour, Life, Love, Optimism, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Isn’t “Peace at any Cost” an oxymoron in a way? I mean, what if the cost is war?

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you ..

