Songs that speak to me

THIS is gonna be a confused (all kinds a’ crazy!) list .. No shit, I can hear my regular readers say. So anyway I’m sitting here working and one of my all time fave songs came on.. It’s Bryan Adams crooning the following words:

“I swear to you – I will always be there foryou .. there’s nothing I won’t do.. I promise you .. All my life I will live for you .. we will make it thru .. forever .. we will be, together .. a family .. you and me .. when I hold you, nothing can compare .. with all of my heart, you know I will always be right there..I believe in us .. nothing else could ever mean so much .. you’re the one I trust .. ”

I am in a particularly cynical mood so I snort and – whilst uttering something unrepeatable – I change the station.

Lo, an all time fave song of mine came on! Love when that happens. This has been a song I’ve loved since I was a teen. I must admit, the idea that we can love more than one person at a time (in a relationship sense, not as one might friends or family) is something I am intrigued by. How one person can satisfy all the needs of another etc .. ? That statement should open me up for some good lectures, I am sure but it is something I think about for all I’ve never acted on it..

A little later, same station (it’s Friday night and they figure no one is listening so they’re playing all sorts of dross for us old ladies home alone)  and another song that I simply adored as a 20-something woman came on. This one made me stop and think “Hmm what am I doing” when I was in a very messed up relationship.

Lines like: “I’ve been to paradise but I’ve never been to me.. ” .. Then she talks about taking the sweet life and it being bitter in the end .. I always felt she’s talking about the fact she chose to be a wanderer thru life and not get married and have babies which I don’t subscribe to but hey this isn’t meant to be logical, this is a post about songs that I like.

I have to confess, I love sappy (and strapping heh) country boys .. so Keith singing “Making Memories of Us” really gets to me: “I’ll earn your trust making memories of us..I wanna honour your Mother and learn from your Pa..” I’m gonna love you .. like nobody loves you .. *dreamy sigh*

In no particular order here are other songs I love to listen to when I’m in a music mood:

Wonderful Tonight – Actually he sounds like a right whinger when he sings this song

Careless Whisper – Oh boy did I fancy George when I was younger! Wham ba.. er, ne’mind.

First Time Ever I Saw Your Face – Could be her voice that just makes this song so good

I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing – Love love love this song (and the movie)

You’re Still The One – Who doesn’t wanna hear this sentiment!

All My Life – I had this sung to me by a boy once. That was sooo hot. Shame he was an asshole.

You Don’t Bring Me Flowers, Crying time again, Right here waiting for you are 3 others I do particularly enjoy ..

Oh the irony at that last few, I know 😉

About lifeinthefarcelane

Giving life the shake down it so richly deserves.

Posted on October 22, 2011, in Humour, Love, Optimism and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. “Bridge over Troubled Water” – someone that you can count on.

  2. Way too many songs for me to even list. And you better open up another comment page entirely for when Hotspur gets here. 🙂 (the smiley was for you, EH. Hey, that’s like HE backwards! I’m a quick one).

  3. I love music. Period. If you want a list, here’s a list of songs I think you would like:
    Esthero – Superheroes
    Telepopmusik – Don’t Look Back (These two are mirrors of each other
    Telepopmusik – Close (These two are mirrors of each other)
    Cars – Moving In Stereo
    ATB – Could You Believe?
    Kaskade – Stepping Out
    Imogen Heap – Hide and Seek (These two are, to me, from the points of view of the wife/SO and the mistress, respectively)
    Imogen Heap – Clear the Area (These two are, to me, from the points of view of the wife/SO and the mistress, respectively)
    Calogero – La fin de la fin du monde (because they don’t capitalize titles)
    BT – Simply Being Loved
    Tiesto f. BT – Love Comes Again
    Kagrra – Utakata
    Miyavi – Mata Yume de Aimashou
    Miyavi – Torture
    Neko Case and Her Boyfriends – Porchlight
    Supreme Beings of Leisure – Sublime
    First Aid Kit – Heavy Storm
    Fleet Foxes – He Doesn’t Know Why

    Bloodhound Gang – No Hard Feelings
    Flight of the Conchords – Business Time
    Cee-Lo Green – Fuck You

    These are all about beginnings, middles or ends of relationships, more or less. The ones at the end after the space are humorous, probably. These are Cosmopolitan, New Wave, Trance, Visual Kei, Country and Folk.

  4. I like this one most, so far: Esthero – Superheroes

  5. Too much music, too little time.

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you ..

