Exceeding expectations

I have a card on my table that was given to me by my Mother 25 years ago. I was heading into the unknown, planning some significant stuff in my life and she wanted to encourage me ..

It states “May you exceed all your expectations”, with a picture of a bird soaring high in the sky.

Inside she wrote the words “With love, pride and unlimited dreams, all for your happiness”.

Til recently, the card has been stashed away in a box of other memorabilia, photos and treasures kept from my younger days. However, I decided to put it where I can see it every day and use it to motivate and inspire me.

It does make me wonder though – when your expectations are high, how much harder it is to exceed ’em. Are those who yearn for simple things .. with little or no aspirations, more content than those who are constantly thinking “wonder if I could do better?”

You see this is something that we all think is a good attribute and certainly it’s how I was raised. To aim high, to try and do better each time you do something. I think I realised it could be unhealthy when I would take the trip to visit my parents and try to beat my previous time *grins sheepishly*

Of course this all comes back to being reasonable, I guess. After all, I suspect it could get a tad depressing having lofty goals if you are unable to ever attain them?

Ah well, for now the card does continue to inspire me or at least to make me think more .. And that can only be a good thing!

About lifeinthefarcelane

Giving life the shake down it so richly deserves.

Posted on November 5, 2011, in Hope, Humour, Life, Love, Optimism, Rants, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. You hit on a point that i have been considering recently, is a simple minded person, with no aspirations, happier than a genius who is always looking for an elusive answer to something? Maybe they are equally happy, in their own ways. I love the letter your mum gave you! πŸ™‚

  2. There is a quote I like by Alice Walker, “Expect nothing. Live frugally on surprise.” I think it is good to have goals, but sometimes if we expect too much, we end up disappointed. Very nice post.

  3. It’s probably better to set the bar kind of low, and then barely raise it gradually over time. That way, when you decide to take a day off of posting, people won’t ask if you’re trapped under something heavy. This might not be applicable to everyone. But what is, is this: Being on your best Pollyanna sweetheart behavior when you first meet someone. No one can sustain that forever, and it’s better to just be yourself from the first second. If they stick around, you know they’re yours. If not, screw them and their bad taste. They’ll probably die alone.

  4. Thanks for stopping by my post so that I could find yours. πŸ™‚ Very nice post. We have a saying, “If you do not give up; if you do not give in; if you keep pressing forward you will have everything you want and more.”

    I believe if you expect nothing you find little. Yes, there are a lot of bumps and bruises from aiming so high, but I can’t even imagine where my life would be if I had not reached for the start and landed on the mountain top. Man is the view GRAND! πŸ™‚

  5. I love this post !!!! My dad died almost a year ago .. Today I grabbed his wallet .. I looked inside .. :0 My dad was a drug addict .. I was also at one time .. I seen all the numbers he wrote of the dealers .. What it did was make me happy my new addiction is blogging and that I left that sorry life behind ,,It killed my dad.. Now I have a wife and my new hi is blogging and playing make believe lions with her 3 year old .. Thanks for giving me a subject to write on πŸ™‚

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you ..

