From social retard to butterfly

I had a lovely experience today and want to share it with you! I was out shopping and realised that I was standing outside an old workplace, from some time back.. so on a whim I decided to go in and see if I recognised anyone still.

Bad start – the receptionist had changed!

I smiled as I backed away into the lift and headed off to one of the floors I used to work on. Peeking thru the locked glass doors, I spied a friendly face and was promptly dragged onto the floor – hugs and cuddles all round!

Within a matter of minutes, people from other floors had turned up and a full blown party atmosphere had erupted. It was hilarious. There were, of course, a whole heap of people who had no bloody idea who I was. And they were surreptitiously peeking over their cubicle barriers wondering wtf all the noise was about as I chattered and caught up with my old colleagues.

It was only an hour, but it was fantastic!

As I left the building with cries of “come back again soon, we miss you” and promises of catching up over the holiday period ringing in my ears I had to smile – it was hard not to after such a lovely visit.

AsΒ I walked along I started thinking about how different I am now, to when I was young a long, long time ago.

You see, I was raised in a traditional, very conservative family. And I was a frightfully well-behaved and quiet child. With an overly strong parental influence applied to my upbringing and young adult years, I was never the life or soul of any party – I was usually found at home studying or spending time with my family.

To be honest, I didn’t care .. I didn’t know any better, I guess. Life was good, for all I was a little unsure how to handle my peers because they had more relaxed upbringings and were into the more normal ‘stuff’ of teens and young adults.

However..

I’ve long since left home, moved towns and jobs a lot and learned that life outside of my originally cloistered world can be kinda fun for all it can also be a bit scary at times πŸ˜‰

I love to try new things (why just the other day I had a fajita for the first time.. ghastly though it was!) I love to meet new people. Partly due to nature of my work, but also perhaps my personality type, I can rock up to anyone and engage them in conversation.

What I was lacking as a young adult and child was a confidence that people actually wanted me to be around. Well didn’t that sentence just make you all go awww .. lol Β By that I mean I wasn’t confident “entering” a social setting and didn’t find it easy to mingle or blend in with a group of people.

No more though!

Whilst I do actually enjoy being alone, I also love being amidst a crowd of people. Preferably ones I like tho! Put me in a crowded mall and I have to fight the urge to punch people. But if it’s a party setting or bar with friends, colleagues and / or family (if they have to be there!) I’m happier than a pig in muck.

Isn’t it curious how we can change throughout our lives? If someone had asked me 30 years ago if I thought I’d ever be begged to attend social gatherings, or have a large and fabulous social life I’d have stammered, blushed and just shaken my head. Inconceivable.

I have no idea quite where I’m going with this so perhaps I’ll hit post and well, actually I’m heading to my new favourite bar with some friends lol

About lifeinthefarcelane

Giving life the shake down it so richly deserves.

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Happy-ness, Humour, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I can totally relate to this post. I am frequently referred to as “manang” (which means old lady in Filipino) since i don’t really party as hard as the other people my age. I also love staying at home, watching TV series like Grey’s Anatomy, House, Breaking Bad, Gossip Girl or HIMYM. I still do not enjoy attending big parties with all the booze and loud music. If i’d go out, it would be just for dinner with close friends or colleagues.

  2. Hmmmm, I do think you are softening up a bit during this holiday seasons. I also think I like it. It is sort of bringing out the softer side of me. NOT. Well maybe a little. Have fun you deserve it.

  3. You are clearly a lovely person πŸ™‚

  4. You got happy! I’m glad. You deserve to have gotten happy.

  5. I’m thinking you’d be an awesome party guest! (Note: I don’t like fajitas either … or any of the build-your-own foods!)

  6. It’s crazy/amazing how we change. I am a TOTALLY different person now than I was before I left home for university. I was very much a beautifully sculpted creature/possession/prize of my family. I hardly spoke. I was just… A thing. NOW I’m a PERSON. Of my very own. And it’s wonderful. πŸ™‚

  7. What a wonderful feeling that visit must have been, nothing like being remembered fondly,

    Loved the post as always!

  8. Think of it this way, co-workers are forced to be with you, many hours a day, in a place they don’t want to be in. If those people genuinely like you, I count in pretty conclusive evidence that you’re a lovely person. πŸ™‚

    conversely, a band of my former co-workers once tried to poison me in the woods in Alaska after the helicopter left…

    • Now come on you cannot stop there!!!!!!! *hands on hips* (and scowling damnit) πŸ˜‰

      • Well, I do hate to be like that. I recently tried to write about it, but it’s still a bit of a sore subject. I ended up taking the post down off my blog because it’s a bit more heavy handed than my usual brand of writing. I came surprisingly close to having at them with my fire axe in my defense. It’s not the sort of thing one likes to read about in between fun stories of adventure and romance gone awry. Besides, things went from bad to worse on that trip. We ran out of food and fresh water. I was poisoned, and nearly killed the crew over it. Someone pooped next to my tent. I moved off by myself, and subsequently woke up with a bear chewing on my tent. Then it rained so hard the helicopter couldn’t come back for us. Then I broke a tent pole. On and on. One thing’s for sure- God loves fools; least wise, this one…

  9. oh hell, that sounds dreadful I was expecting a tale of accidental poisoning and fun!! I hear you re “congruence” on a blog. ALTHO I was once told off for being too obsessed with men and love and “crap” (my word, I do tend to paraphrase lol) when I thought I was simply staying on topic! Sheesh …

  10. …Feedback from a philistine, no doubt. Don’t let it trouble you. I’ve only been blessed to have read a little, and I really enjoyed your work. As have a great many others, apparently. Keep up the good work. I’ll be looking forward to more. πŸ™‚

  11. far out I JUST got all the other comments appear grrrr sorry people, will go read and reply now .. some days technology does annoy me!!!!

    As to philistines, well .. sorry but that just made me crack up laughing, I thought I was the only one said that heheh thank you for your comments, you’re fabulous!

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you ..

