Advice to (a younger) me

If, by some quirk of circumstance, I was given the chance to go back in time and give myself some advice I think maybe I’d start by saying “it’s OK to make mistakes”. I was raised to believe that mistakes were failures.. When in fact I now know that they are simply a chance to learn something .. I spent my teens and 20’s worrying every time I screwed something up (which was reasonably often cos duh it’s what we do best at that age!) and that was not time or energy well spent.

1. Regret less.  That would be something I’d say to my younger self.

2. Go with your gut. Tune it finely, then listen to it!

3. Love. Love wisely, love deeply. And love often.

4. Friends come and friends go. Enjoy them while they’re friends, let them go when they are not. There was a number of times I fretted over a friendship that faded for reasons I couldn’t identify.. I know now it sometimes just happens.

5. Dark chocolate and red wine are health food. Enjoy!

6. Surround yourself with beauty.

7. Swim naked whenever presented with the chance. It’s a wonderful feeling. Not after the company xmas party though.. Decorum suggests at least keeping your sox on.

8. Don’t live your life trying to impress others. Turns out they either don’t care or they like you just the way you are.

9. Plan for the worst – but don’t welcome or invite it into your life.

10. Make different mistakes. Refer earlier “they’re lessons” statement 😉

11. Save money – but don’t be so worried about saving anything else. Sleep in the best linen you can afford. Eat jam sandwiches off that exquisite dinner set your Mother kept in the cupboard ’til she died. That last drop of beautiful perfume is best applied to the nape of your neck before you go out on a date than it is going sour in the bottle at the back of the cupboard.

The saddest task I did after my Mum died was to dispose of all the things she felt she had to save.

There’s probably more, like the fact I think laying back cloud watching is something everyone should make time to do. Or the obvious ones like “be kind”. But I think those 11 are my top tips to a younger me.

And now, it’s time to go and sit in the sun and drink some ice cold champagne, eat some gorgeously ripe strawberries and send Christmassy texts to all my friends.

Merry Christmas to me .. And to you 🙂

About lifeinthefarcelane

Giving life the shake down it so richly deserves.

Posted on December 25, 2011, in Happy-ness, Humour, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Wonderful, just fantastic. So many of the same lessons I’d send to my younger self. I’ve decided, though, that instead of regretting the time I’ve spent not knowing all those wise things, I’m going to live them in the rest of my life. After all, the arrow of time only flows forward. Merry Christmas to you!

  2. As life is currently in shambles and I don’t think I am too old to learn…time to start implementing some of these things into life. Thanks Lady. 🙂 Hope you have a happy and blessed Christmas!

  3. Now that is a letter filled with wisdom!

  4. Excellent advice for everyone, young and old! Merry Christmas to you!

  5. Merry Christmas, I enjoyed the post very much.. As always the uncluttered truth from you!

  6. MERRY CHRISTMAS MY BRITISH SISTER!

  7. Bring on the new year, maybe some new dreams and definitely some new experiences – for us all 🙂

    You guys rock my blog, thank you for the comments!

  8. Love this.. Especially the champagne and strawberries. Wish I was there.

  9. Merry Christmas… Champagne and Strawberries…I wish I was there as well!

  10. I don’t share very well so it’s perhaps as well you’re not here ya know *grins* I wish you were here too .. and hope you had a lovely Xmas

    (PS Nice new pic 4change!) 🙂

  11. Wonderfully said. Number 7 hits home. I would add: Dance nude to your own song in the rain on a summer day…

  12. Deep and moving… as exected.

  13. Great list!
    Socks are overrated.

  1. Pingback: Advice to (a younger) me « lifeinthefarcelane

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you ..

