What’s the point of a blog?

Someone asked me this yesterday after I’d mentioned the fact I had a blog and went on to say that mine was an anonymous one.. An understandable question I suppose..Β although their statement “surely the idea of writing something is to have it read?” did annoy me somewhat.

I tried to explain to them that people do allegedly read my blog, but that they didn’t know who I was, as such. This lead to an even more irritating conversation where I was teased for having make believe friends (wouldn’t be the first time lol) and advised that I needed to get a life.

Which got me to thinking. You see to me this is a diary of sorts. Except for one liddle thing, if anyone had come within 100 feet of my hand-scratched-anguish-filled paper diaries when I was keeping them way back in my tweens, teens and 20’s, I’d have set the dogs on them.

And as you can imagine my diaries back then positively brimmed with excitement. You know: really juicy stuff like at age 16 writing: “I hate my Mother, why won’t she let me date that hot 20yr old boy” and other equally as “private” and important (snort) stuff.

Let’s face it, how exciting can a teenager’s life really be?

Yet I write the most personal of thoughts, the most intimate details about my life here on the interwebs for the world to see, laugh at and even at times, abuse me about.

Which begs the question!

Why do I blog?

I started this one a few months ago as a place to dump thoughts whilst going thru a particularly complex break up. I figured it’d save my friends from groaning every time they saw my number on their caller display units as I battled with a range of emotions and thoughts .. And continue to do so πŸ˜‰

Over time thought – it’s become a place not just to dump my thoughts but a place I go to read others, also. Some are painful, some are entertaining, others educational. Some offer me inspiration. All are enjoyable and I have to say that I am thankful for discovering the world of WordPress and all you fabulous people who inhabit it and have become a part of my world.

So do you tell people about your blog?Β And if so, what do they say in response?

About lifeinthefarcelane

Giving life the shake down it so richly deserves.

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Humour, Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 47 Comments.

  1. I learned a long time ago that if you choose to put yourself out there artistically, you can’t expect to have any control over what people say. I’d like everyone to gasp in shock and adoration: “Ohmygod, you write a blog! That’s the most incredible thing I’ve ever heard! You must be a frigging genius!” But what I usually get is “Oh, nice” or just “Oh.” So you have a great reason for blogging, period. Whether you want your identity to be known is superfluous to the value you get from writing and the value others get from reading.

    • Good point and I hear ya re “OH” .. !! Damn those heathens huh!! Occasionally I will talk myself up about this secret blog I have in the vain hope the person I’m with will care two hoots. Thus far, m’no. I need new friends, more literary types perhaps? *grin*

      • oh you’re so sweet, a real friend does that I am told. Whereas advancing on them with a pair of scissors isn’t what a real friend does.. It worked, she got up! Sheesh..

        You know what the problem with my blog is?

        As soon as I meet a man my material will disappear!!
        Hmm, hadn’t thought this themed blog thing thru at all πŸ˜‰

        Have a good NYEE!

  2. Yes, of course I’ve told people about my blog. In fact, one night I got very drunk, and I told my wife ALL about my blog. Her response? She said “Well isn’t THAT just wonderful! Now I can feel threatened by women from all seven continents and some of the islands in between!!!”

    OK, she didn’t REALLY say that… it was much worse! And I’m J/K!!! What did she really say? I dunno… maybe I’ll blog about it. Lol πŸ˜‰

  3. I share my thoughts and believe it attributes to my artistic side as well as inspiration to be a Better Human being through sharing those thoughts and creating art…Who Cares what someone else thinks about it… There will always be one that likes it! Me!I like your posts and be they cute or sarcastic and at times even down right mean well it’s all you and you are Beautiful!

  4. If people ask me I tell them I write and it happens to be in a blog. I cross promote on Facebook and Flickr, so people who know me know I blog.

  5. I’ve been wanting to start a blog for a while now, but have struggled with these very issues. Do I tell people about it? Do I keep it anonymous? Why not just keep a diary on my computer? Should it be general stuff about my life? Should it be a topical blog about specific issues that relate to me? Who would read it? Would would care? Does any of it matter? I haven’t answers to any of these questions! What I do know is that I love to write. The thing I know the most about is myself. Writing about myself is a cathartic, creative process for me. Knowing that someone else reads it challenges me to be more creative, interesting and structured in my writing. Other than that, I’m not sure what value there is to turning my life into a peep show. I’m torn.

    • LOL @ peep show!! You only share what you want to of course, so there’s the beauty of a blog. It can be as structured or free form as you choose πŸ™‚

      I try to keep mine on the theme of “wtf is this love thing all about” because it’s what I started to talk on initially, as well as blogging about the end of my relationship. But now and then it rambles, and so far no one has complained too much. (And if they did, well I can ignore ’em) Love the interwebs!

      It seems a lot of writers keep blogs, from the people I chat to – so we’ll wait for your blog to be borne πŸ™‚

  6. I blog to practice writing. It is a good way to learn the economy of language

  7. lol, girl, i’m nominating you for the 7×7 blogging award. (kinda ironic, with this post), lol. but, i hope you accept it & enjoy! Take care, unwritten truth

  8. I set out to write a book, but I thought it sucked. Someone suggested I start posting chapters online as a way of getting feedback from the public. Thus, I developed yet another alias: The Wandering Atavist. πŸ˜‰

  9. Mine is a form of personal accountability. Like John, people who know me have access to my blog if they want to read it. However, most of them dont pay any attention. I try to do my best to not let that knowledge Colorado what I write. I want to be able to express myself when the need arises in such a way that reflects me down to the core. I don’t expect much attention from anyone, but I do have some perhaps vain hope of being a positive influence out in cyberspace.
    I also REALLY enjoy reading what others have to say. I’m constantly impressed by just how many kindred souls there are out there.

  10. This is a really good post…I dunno…it’s just fun. Like you said, it’s enjoyable reading what other people are putting out and interacting with other bloggers. It’s a very plebeian, democratic sort of thing, this blogging is. We control our own content, edit ourselves, self-publish, and our success is determined by the judgement of our peers. I like that a lot. A blog can get pretentious (I straddle that line often) but the format is anything but. And, of course, I think I’m getting to be an overall better writer by the practice (both in writing and editing) it allows me.

    And, lastly, if someone is a bitch, I get to spread it over the Internet, which is enjoyable as well. : D

  11. I am a total attention whore. I tell people about my blog even if they happen to be all Ted Kaczinsky and have sworn off technology.

    But all joking – am I really joking? – aside, it is just a good place to vent. Although it does lead to comments (which are appreciated) some people in face to face convos don’t seem to grasp the “I’m not here for advice or help. I’m just here to rail man about shit that upsets me.”

    And being completely forward, I could totally see getting along quite well with you. Honesty is a big ass thing for me. And my brutally honest friends are closer than that even.

    So being impressed by the woman behind the blog…what are you wearing lol. I tease. Keep putting your thoughts here. I’ll loyally read them. It’s really good stuff.

    • oops lemme go back and unwrite that advice I sent in my last comment *grin* you’re a writer, therefore I suppose being an attn whore (as you so charmingly put it) is important because it’s getting you out there?

      I’m wearing black track suit pants with a hole in one knee and also with those cute lil pilly bits on them from being washed 43859x (once with a dish-cloth for added pills) and a faded red tee shirt. And am barefoot. Oh and I brushed my hair yesterday. Hot eh.

      Reason #43 why I’d be useless at cyber sex?
      *grins*

  12. I started my blog about 6 months ago on the spur of the moment. It’s semi-anonymous. When people ask what I’ve been up to, I tell them about the blog. Several of my friends read my posts and I’ve made a few blogging friends. I enjoy reading other blogs as much as I enjoy the writing process. There are some wonderful writers keeping blogs and you are one of them.

    Excellent post!

    • aww thank you so much what a sweet comment! I confess when I started blogging I thought “why would anyone read this rot I’m writing” and then I also thought “and why would I wanna read theirs” but you do get to “know” a person and now I have a few blogs I follow avidly and am so glad I found .. incl yours πŸ™‚

  13. Im selective at who I invite into my blogging world… I only invite those that I know wont take offense and that I wont end up dilberately insulting. I use my blogs to vent, speak my mind, my heart, and my soul. I blog about things that I prefer be more personal and entertaining, I use it to be more creative with my thoughts because I enjoy writing and it takes more effort to entertain complete strangers πŸ™‚ I am a very honest writer and a very brutally honest person so I prefer keep my blogs mostly anonymous.

    • Blimey, multiple blogs would be a lot of work! Good point re entertaining strangers being a bit more of an effort, I hadn’t thought of that. It’s not like they’re obliged to read, like a parent or sibling might be lol

      Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  14. i am very new here in WordPress and in blogging in general. it is only in the past few months that i have discovered the pleasure of writing my thoughts and experiences and learning from strangers’ thoughts and experiences as well. I honestly regret not starting a year or two earlier when some big things happened in my life.

    Blogging has changed my life somehow and i will forever be thankful that i stumbled upon wordpress and blogs like yours πŸ™‚

    thanks for sharing your thoughts! πŸ™‚

    • Often seems that people start a blog when something major is going on as this gives them a place to relax and unwind almost, it’s a living room with big comfy chairs, an open bar and nice people around πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for your comment, will be fun keeping in touch over 2012!

  15. SarSaparillameliSSa

    Only recently joined the blogiverse. Whilst on a boyfriend holiday (I had been suggesting he starts one) I thought to myself “you idiot, you should have your own”. So now I do. I love to be able to shift all the junk that fills my brain and get it out there into…well online in a semi-structured way. While having a window into other people’s worlds and enjoying some great writing by anonymous folk
    . Its a very good thing. My friends laughed when I mentioned it, in the same way they laughed when I mentioned I was going to do a poetry reading and they discovered I put swear words into my work and that one of the poems was about sex. So I do it for me really and anyone who likes or loathes what I write, well its nice to make a difference to somebody’s day ;-). Lets see how it all rolls in 2012 πŸ™‚

    • “Junk that fills your brain” that is a good way to describe what I was thinking when I started mine too! Its a place to dump things and mull them over, kick them around .. see what people think (because you get such a varied and interesting bunch of input from diff people) .. it’s great. Look forward to reading yours over 2012.

  16. I also blog anonymously – primarily because I don’t want certain people I may write about to know who I’m talking about πŸ™‚

    Seriously though, the point of the whole endeavour is that I write and that I also get read but I’m not interested in the “fame” part of it. No one needs to know if I’m a flamboyant 80-year old or a timid and spotty-faced teenager; they just need to enjoy the blog for what it is.

    It’s like picking up a book in a shop by an author you’ve never heard of – you don’t know the author but that doesn’t mean it won’t be a good read.

    I’ve met a few people in person after communicating with them through the blog and twitter. That’s always an interesting experience as it feels like a blind date without the pressure for drunken sex afterwards. I’ve got a few good friends now out of this. More recently I even spoke to someone on the phone too … and it was not half as crazy as it could have been! πŸ™‚

    • Too true re people just reading and enjoying it. That is one of the things about the net, it’s a great equaliser because it’s all about words / communication in the end..

      You talked to some crazy person on the p.. oh it wasn’t as crazy?
      Damn. I shoulda tried harder, sorry
      *grins*

  17. A friend of mine suggested I start a blog after reading a note I had posted on facebook. I’ve always enjoyed writing but I have given up on becoming the next Stephen King. So I checked wordpress out and started blogging. At first I was very “self conscious” as I let my friends and family know about it. I’ve mostly received only good feedback about my blogging.
    One major downside to a blog shared with friends and family is that I need to remain somewhat politically correct. My blog is an iceberg, where the juiciest bits are kept under the surface. Which has led me to seriously consider writing another blog…this time anonymously.

    • I think a lot of people have 2 blogs, one for PC topics, to share pictures or stories of generic stuff and one for the more personal “wtf” moments in our lives that we may feel weird if we were to tell our Aunts or Cousins! Let me know when you start up that other one πŸ™‚

  18. Oh, yeah … I talk about it all the time. In response they usually say something like “If I promise to read it will you leave me the hell alone?” I think some of them have signed up with fake email addresses (mom) and pretend to read it just to humor me. On the other hand, I have some devoted followers that dote on my every word. (And then I wake up.)

    I’m enjoying your blog very much. Keep up the good work!

  19. I am so happy you found wordpress and I am so happy I found you.

  20. If I trust someone, I tell them about it. I will not,however, share my blog with my Mother or the Mother in Law. I don’t have enough anti anxiety pills for that.

  21. I don’t tell anyone about my blog. By being anonymous I feel as if I have someone to listen to my anger, fear, and once in awhile my deepest desires without knowing who I really am. I can also except criticism without wanting to strangle someone! I don’t blog very often only when the need to vent arises. Follow me and feel free to criticize.

    • Thanks, will do .. and I’m a bit the same .. as in why I have the blog. It’s a safe place for me to ponder and vent and think out loud without driving my friends crazy. Kibble (love her blog) said her blog is cos her hubby tired of her stories, well I was thinking the same thing when starting mine – don’t wanna wear my friends down with my whining as I grapple with all this love crap. Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚

  22. I started out blogging completely anonymously… not wanting anyone I knew to get their hands on the deeply personal things I was spilling into my blog. But as I was doing it a little more frequently, I realized that it’s really not that fun if people aren’t reading it… so I pushed it to Twitter… but that only reaches the 10 people that follow me……. so I pushed it to Facebook, and then joined an online blog promoting community. I went from 3 followers to 270 in about a week’s time, and ever-growing.

    But more importantly, there are a few people that I restrict from seeing the twitter and facebook posts saying that I blogged, because it’s just too personal. So in a long-winded, drawn-out answer to your question — yes, I let people know I have a blog. A lot of my friends think it’s fantastic and read it faithfully. I’m sure some think it’s dumb… but the ones who think it’s dumb don’t have to read it I guess! It’s not like I’m forcing them πŸ˜‰

    • Wow @ followers that is huge! Where do we sign up??
      *grins*

      I have a couple of people who know about this blog and there are times I go ‘hmmm’ as I type up my ramblings but I trust them enough that I don’t panic too much lol

      As you say, you’re not forcing anyone to read it! And it does mean you don’t have to over think or try to apply any particular style when writing. At least that is what it means for me. Because I worry that people may misinterpret my thinking and worry about me!!

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you ..

