The one where she was thankful.. And happy

I’m of the view that people who do neat stuff should be told as much. Be it the admin girl I have working for me who is ah-mazingly good or be it the chick who didn’t wish me Merry Christmas when both of us clearly had hangovers and wished we were anywhere but at that shop so early on Xmas eve morning.

At least all I had to do was buy OJ. She was there for 8 hours. With xmas carols playing.. I ESP’d her soothing thoughts.. no words were spoken but we bonded in that moment of “$#@!! Christmas” solidarity before I went home to drown myself in a large glass of freshly squeezed orange juice.

But I digress..

This post is in part, bought about by the fact that New Year’s eve is upon us. Now I have to admit, New Years is a tradition I’ve never much gone for. I figure why start the new year exhausted, with a hangover, broke and possibly even having to chew your arm off because your beer goggles fell off in the night!?

I can do that routine ANY given night 😉

Instead, New years eve I tend to spend smugly alone contemplating the successes I’ve experienced in the last 12 months of my life.. Which generally means I have plenty of time to watch a movie and still get to bed early *grumble* All jesting aside, I use it as a time of introspection, when I ponder over the things done (or not done) in the year that is drawing to a close.

And I take a stab at mapping out my year ahead.. Don’t get me wrong, 5 out of 10 things on the annual list never get done. But I always do it, and enjoy doing so..

This year will be the first in 8 that I will not be sharing it with a man in my world. Or home, as was the case.. And I’m at peace with this, after all – it was my decision to end our relationship this year. But it does mean a change in my planning for 2012. And that’s exciting to consider!

To get the night off to a good start I plan to open some very yummy French champagne, say a toast to ME ..

And prob’ly very promptly wobble off to bed. Champagne goes flat so I will have to drink the entire bottle. I know .. it’ll be terrible 😉

But before I embark on this boozy “ME” evening, I want to send out a big Happy New Years greeting and a thank you..

When I started this blog back in June, never in a million years did I imagine that a) I’d get anyone to read my ramblings and more cool b) I never imagined I’d meet so many lovely people to whom I actually feel quite close.

Is that weird? I know we’ve none of us met, yet some of you I do regard as friends. You’ve helped me to think clearly, you’ve given me hope. You’ve laughed with me (maybe AT, now and then too!) and generally been a very real support network through what has been a big year for me.

And I like that.

Oh before I go – below you will see something that made me smile when I saw it yesterday!

I was on the brink of 200 followers and yes I rushed to take a picture, it gave me a thrill – I lead a sad life *grin* If you are one of the people who made me smile when I took this pic yesterday – thank you.

Here’s to a fabulous 2012 for us all!

About lifeinthefarcelane

Giving life the shake down it so richly deserves.

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Change, Happy-ness, Hope, Humour, Life, Love, Optimism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I’m supposed to spend New Years at an “Industrial Club” whatever the hell that means. Be happy you’re single. You’ll be cozy doing what you want as I hold back someone’s hair above a toilet, I’m sure of it.

    Congrats on all the blog accomplishments in the last year. There are still many more places you can go with this. Keep up the great work and have a fantastic 2012! It could be our last year ::evil Mayan laugh::

    • oh you’re so sweet, a real friend does that I am told. Whereas advancing on them with a pair of scissors isn’t what a real friend does.. It worked, she got up! Sheesh..

      You know what the problem with my blog is?

      As soon as I meet a man my material will disappear!!
      Hmm, hadn’t thought this themed blog thing thru at all ..

      Have a good NYE Eve!

  2. I prefer to think of it as laughing near you, not in a locational sense, and we have met, just not in a physical sense. I’ve made many friends that way in my life. Some of my favourite people in the world I’ve known for years and yet have barely seen pictures of them. Maybe it’s just because I’m a writer that I find friendships as easy in pure words and maybe occasional phone calls as in person.

    • You know, I think I totally understand because initially the whole notion of online friends seemed just weird but .. it isn’t. Hell you people know more about me than anyone I know face to face bar my best friend lol

  3. Reblogged this on Hello100blog.

  4. Hello100blog is the Carlos Mencia of blogs. Or the Dane Cook of blogs. Or the someone who never makes a post of his or her own but instead steals shamelessly from other bloggers of blogs. Sigh.

    Anyway, you are going to have a great year.

    • I confess I had to look them both up and went ‘oic’ once I did .. cos I didn’t understand their blog when I went there at all.. interesting concept, blogging other people’s posts. I guess that functionality exists for some reason but maybe not quite the way their make use of it .. ?

      Anyway, I AM going to have a great year. Agree!

      It’s now New Year’s eve 4pm. I’m struggling to resist the call of the champagne bottle.. but I have one more list to do and then some dishes THEN It’s game on!

  5. We don’t do the wild and crazy NYE thing anymore either. Been there, done that many times, and threw up on the t-shirt… Instead, we celebrate the end of the holiday season at home together with champagne and hors d’oeuvres, and a quiet evening in front of the warm glow of the fireplace. There’s something very life affirming about waking up on New Years morning feeling healthy and happy.

    My longest online friendship that is still ongoing, dates back to 2002, and I have several others that are measured in years. These virtual friendships are every bit as real as the friends I have in the real world, and in a couple cases, even more so – if measured in closeness and how well we really know each other. I’m glad that the web has made it all possible, and also glad to have just met you, because yet again, you are another example of proof that Kiwi and Aussie girls ROCK! Lol 😉

    I’m very happy for you about the success of your blog. You are open and honest, refreshingly amusing, and never boring – so it’s no surprise to me that you now have a large following. Congratulations and Happy New Year!

    • OK, in light of that lovely comment I guess we’ll keep you on .. tell your wife to put the knife away .. for now cos I’m sure you’ll be naughty again soon!! 😉

      Happy New year to you too, hope it is restful, enjoyable and heralds a brilliant new year ahead for you both!

  6. I’m so very grateful for all the blog friends I’ve made this year as well, including you! Have a happy new year!

  7. I am calling in a Liebster here!!! Nominated!!

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you ..

